Paris Party Chic for Très Cheap

I want a Paris party!” said Natalie, my then 7-year old, about her next birthday. Like any other mother in 2013 that needs to plan a birthday, I went to Pinterest. And found a lot of bubblegum pink and black when I searched for “paris party”.

Image Results

Then I searched for:

“When did pink and black become the official color theme of Paris?”

I closed the computer down and realized I was not going to be able to rip off ideas from the internet for this party. Too many fake chandeliers… and poodles. Oh, and table settings that were fancier than my wedding! It took a few weeks, but a plan started forming around the words back yard paris party on the patio. Once I figured out we could do the party outside ideas started flooding in- a café on the patio, and a little Paris street in the back yard with little shops for the girls to visit. And the pièce de résistance- a fashion show put on by Natalie and her friends.

We sent out invitations on Evite that said “Oh, la la. Join us for a Paris Party”

Join us as we celebrate Natalie’s 8th birthday with a back yard Paris party! Girls will make jewelry, have their nails done, and then put on a fashion show. Capping off our day in “Paris” we will have treats at “Natalie’s Bistro”.

When the girls arrived I had two easy-up tents set up to look like little stores. I made pretend awnings from paper table clothes that were spray painted. Then I printed letters on the computer, cut them out and glued them to the front of the awnings to make the store names, “Salon” for where we would set up the manicures and “Bijou”, french for jewelry, where the girls made necklaces and découpaged little wooded suitcases.

From there they all went to Natalie’s bedroom to get ready for the fashion show. Some girls wore their fashion show outfits and some girls changed into new outfits for the fashion show. My husband had music loaded on the ipod and announced each girl as she walked down the back porch stairs and up to the parents in the audience. I think this was their favorite part. They all just beamed when it was their turn to take the runway!

After the fashion show, they sat at the patio tables and had croissants, crudities and fruit with strawberry lemonade (said with a french accent..lee-mo-nod) to wash it all down. I asked Natalie’s older brother if he could be a waiter at the bistro, but he had a better idea.
image (2)
And then it was time to blow out the candles on the store-bought fruit tart and open some presents. (Nana bought the girl an amazing cake from a fancy bakery too-but it is NOT included in my breakdown of expenses below.) Everyone loved it and I think we were able to offer the girls a trip “a la Paris” without breaking “le banke”.
Find out next week how I used the Paris party as an excuse to spruce up the patio and some of the deals I found on patio furniture and potted plants.

Grand Total $208

Leave a comment